The best resource for Coronavirus Updates and Preparedness in Nevada County at Click here to link to the Mayor's Message.

Dog Licenses

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Every owner or caretaker of a dog over the age of four (4) months is required to obtain a dog license. This requirement applies to all dogs that reside with in the Town for more than thirty (30) days in any calendar year. FAILURE TO LICENSE YOUR DOG COULD RESULT IN A CITATION BEING ISSUED.

A valid rabies vaccination certificate, which should be obtained at four (4) months of age from a veterinarian, is required at the time of licensing.

License fees are as follows:

1 year
2 years
3 years

A $12.00 late penalty will apply if the dog is not licensed within the thirty (30) days of the dog attaining the age of four (4) months or thirty (30) days from acquiring or bringing the dog into Town.

All valid and current dog license certificates from other California counties and cities will be honored at no charge for the remainder of the license term.

Dog license tags are required to be securely attached to a collar, harness, or other device and worn by the dog at all times unless the dog is securely confined to the owner's premises or when the dog is engaged in activities that customarily prohibits a dog from wearing a collar, such as hunting, show, or working dogs.

Pay your Dog Licenses Online.

Dog License Application

Notice to our Customers: When you provide a check as payment, you authorize us either to use the information from your check to make a one-time electronic fund transfer from your account or to process the payment as a check transaction. For inquiries, please call the Town of Truckee Finance Department at (530) 582-7700.